Decomposition of organic material in the soil that is crucial for the growth and metabolism of plants and microorganisms, is the focal point of this research project. Plants take up the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (CO2) during photosynthesis. Organisms such as fungi, bacteria mites and earthworms living in the soil decompose the dead plant material  and release  carbon dioxide (CO2) back into the atmosphere. This is why it is of such great importance to achieve a better understanding of the role of microorganism in the decomposition process, which is the objective of the TeaTime4Schools project.

TeaTime4Schools is funded by Sparkling Science, a research programme of the Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy. The Austrian Agency for Health and Food Safety (AGES), Open Science – Life Sciences in Dialogue and the HBLA for Viticulture and Pomology Klosterneuburg will cooperate and run the joint project from the beginning of September 2017 to the end of August 2019.

Call to all schools: register now and explore soil with teabags.

Schools can take part in this project and help to explore the decomposition processes of plant material in the soil. Students will bury tea bags under different land uses (Grassland, Maize field, Forest) near the school and record the GPS data of the location as part of the project. The tea bags will be recovered three months later, dried, weighed and the results recorded on a map together with the GPS data, enabling scientists to compare the global data gathered. The schools will also send a soil sample to AGES to be analysed for soil characteristics. This makes it possible to analyse the effects of the land use and  the soil characteristics  on the decomposition rate. Teachers will get an introduction to the method prior to the start of the experiment, as well as an information package with background material. The final  results of all school classes – spread across Austria – will be presented at the final workshop  of the project that will be organised at AGES.

  • Target group: students aged 10+
  • Project duration: 2 years (September 2017 to August 2019)
  • School activities: April/May/June 2018 (introductory workshop, burying of teabags), Sept 2018 (recovery of teabags, taking a soil sample, evaluation of data), March 2019 (final event)

Details & Registration: Are you interested in taking part in this project with your class? If so, please fill out the following online form: online form



The teabag index method

Measuringsoil biological activity with tea bags

Project from

Funded by

Teatime4Schools

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Forschungsprojekts steht das Thema Boden, genauer gesagt der Abbau des organischen Materials im Boden, der entscheidend für das Wachstum und den Stoffwechsel von Pflanzen und Mikroorganismen ist. Während der Photosynthese fixieren Pflanzen das Treibhausgas Kohlendioxid (CO2) in verschiedenen organischen Strukturen. Nach der Seneszenz zersetzen Organismen wie Pilze, Bakterien und wirbellose Bodentiere das tote Pflanzenmaterial und geben einen Teil des gespeicherten Kohlenstoffs an die Atmosphäre ab. Umso wichtiger ist es, ein besseres Verständnis über die Rolle der Mikroorganismen im Zersetzungsprozess zu erlangen, was das Ziel des Projekts TeaTime4Schools ist.

TeaTime4Schools wird gefördert von Sparkling Science, einem Forschungsprogramm des Bundesministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft. Die Österreichische Agentur für Ernährungssicherheit (AGES), Open Science – Lebenswissenschaften im Dialog und die HBLA für Wein- und Obstbau Klosterneuburg starteten das gemeinsame Projekt. Es läuft von September 2017 bis Ende August 2019.

Jetzt Schule anmelden und mit Teebeuteln den Boden erforschen.

Schulen können sich jetzt am Projekt beteiligen und mithelfen, die Zersetzungsvorgänge pflanzlichen Materials im Boden zu erforschen. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden Teebeutel auf einer Grünfläche (Wiese, Maisfeld, Waldboden), die nahe der Schule gelegenen ist, vergraben und vom Standort GPS-Daten notiert. Nach drei Monaten werden die Beutel wieder ausgegraben, getrocknet, gewogen und die Ergebnisse samt GPS-Daten anschließend in eine Karte eingetragen, anhand derer WissenschaftlerInnen weltweite Daten vergleichen können. So können beispielsweise der Einfluss von Standort und Bodenzusammensetzung auf die Zersetzungsgeschwindigkeit analysiert werden. Grundlagen zum Thema Boden sowie zur Auswertung und Interpretation der Daten werden den beteiligten PädagogInnen im Rahmen eines Workshops näher gebracht. Bei der großen Abschlusspräsentation werden die zusammengeführten Ergebnisse aller – auf ganz Österreich verteilten – Schulklassen präsentiert.

  • Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen ab 10 Jahren
  • Projekt-Laufzeit: 2 Jahre (September 2017 bis August 2019)
  • Aktivitäten für Schulen: April/Mai/Juni 2018 (Einführungsworkshop, Teebeutel vergraben), Sept 2018 (Teebeutel ausgraben, Datenauswertung), März 2019 (Abschlussveranstaltung)

Anmeldung: Bei Interesse mit Ihrer Schulklasse teilzunehmen, füllen Sie bitte das Online Formular aus.

Die Teabag Index Methode

Messen der Bodenaktivität mit Teebeuteln

Projekt von

Gefördert von