Teatime4App

The degradation of organic material is crucial for the growth and metabolism of plants and microorganisms: decomposition and mineralization make the required nutrients available. This also releases the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (CO2) into the atmosphere. Rapid degradation leads to increased CO2 emissions, while slow degradation increases carbon storage in the soil. In order to better understand the global CO2 cycle, it is therefore important to gather more information about the decomposition rates in different soils.

With this tea bag method, even lay people worldwide can make a valuable contribution to science and the environment: They simply bury tea bags in the ground, dig them out again after some time and weigh them. Weight loss indicates how much plant material, in this case tea, has been decomposed. This simple and cheap method for determining decomposition rates has been scientifically confirmed and corresponding initiatives have already been launched in numerous countries around the world.

With these experiments, comparable data can be obtained worldwide, especially from regions for which no corresponding information is yet available.

In the project TeaTime4App the AGES - Austrian Agency for Food Security - will create an educational app. The method of the Tea Bag Index (TBI) is used as well as the teaching materials that were already compiled in the TeaTime4Schools project. The TBI measures the degradation rates of buried tea bags within three months using a standardised method. The method can easily be carried out by "Citizen Scientists", such as pupils, teachers and other interested parties. The app will allow the schools and Citizen Scientists involved to make the project simpler and less dependent on an accompanying research team. This could enable schools to include the method in their curriculum.

  •     Target group: Agricultural schools
  •     Project duration: 1 year (15.1.2019 - 31.12.2019)
  •     Activities for schools: Feb-Apr 2019 (Evaluate materials), June - Sept 2019 (Test tea bag method and app)



Project by

Funded by

Teatime4App

Der Abbau organischen Materials ist entscheidend für das Wachstum und den Stoffwechsel von Pflanzen und Mikroorganismen: Durch Zersetzung und Mineralisierung werden die benötigten Nährstoffe verfügbar. Dabei wird auch das Treibhausgas Kohlendioxid (CO2) in die Atmosphäre frei gesetzt. Ein schneller Abbau führt zu erhöhten CO2-Emissionen, während ein langsamer Abbau die Kohlenstoffspeicherung im Boden erhöht. Um den weltweiten CO2-Kreislauf besser zu verstehen ist es daher wichtig, mehr Informationen über die Zersetzungsraten in unterschiedlichen Böden zu sammeln.

Mit dieser Teebeutel-Methode können auch Laien weltweit einen wertvollen Beitrag für Wissenschaft und Umwelt leisten: Sie vergraben einfach Teebeutel im Boden, graben sie nach einiger Zeit wieder aus und wiegen sie. Der Gewichtsverlust zeigt an, wie viel Pflanzenmaterial, in diesem Fall Tee, zersetzt wurde. Diese einfache und billige Methode zur Bestimmung von Zersetzungsraten ist wissenschaftlich bestätigt, entsprechende Initiativen wurden bereits in zahlreichen Ländern der Erde gestartet.

Mit diesen Experimenten können weltweit vergleichbare Daten gewonnen werden, vor allem auch aus Regionen, zu denen bislang keine entsprechenden Informationen vorliegen.

Im Projekt TeaTime4App wird die AGES - Österreichische Agentur für Ernährungssicherheit - eine Bildungs-App erstellen. Dabei wird sowohl die Methode des Tea Bag-Index (TBI), als auch die Lehrmaterialien genutzt, die bereits beim Projekt TeaTime4Schools zusammengestellt wurden. Der TBI erfasst die Abbauraten von vergrabenen Teebeuteln innerhalb von drei Monaten mittels einer standardisierten Methode. Die Methode kann leicht von „Citizen Scientists”, wie z.B. von Schülerinnen und Schülern, sowie Lehrpersonen und Interessierten durchgeführt werden. Die App wird es den Schulen bzw. den beteiligten Citizen Scientists ermöglichen, das Projekt einfacher durchzuführen und sie weniger abhängig von einem begleitenden Forscherteam machen. Dies könnte es den Schulen ermöglichen, die Methode in ihren Lehrplan aufzunehmen.

  • Zielgruppe: Landwirtschaftliche Schulen
  • Projekt-Laufzeit: 1 Jahre (15.1.2019 – 31.12.2019)
  • Aktivitäten für Schulen: Feb-Apr 2019 (Materialien evaluieren), Juni - Sept 2019 (Teebeutel Methode und App testen)

Projekt von

Gefördert von